Skip to content

The impact of a few simple words…

January 7, 2011

I woke up this morning to the upbeat calypso song that is my Blackberry alarm clock.

As I fumbled to shut it off and hit snooze for 5 minutes, I saw on the screen that I had a Facebook notification.  I’m not quite sure how, but in my half asleep state I managed to open it up, and start reading.

What I found was the following amazing message from an old friend:

“Just have to take a moment again and let you know how freakin’ inspirational you are!
You’ve done so well Kirsty. And I’m so proud that you post all your successes!!
I want to tell you this everytime we pass each other but I never get the chance. It’s like I am star struck by your success and words are torn from my mouth!!
I am so proud of you! Keep chasing whatever has captivated you to chase your dreams, because it has done you well.”

I can’t tell you how perfect the timing was on this message. 2011 hasn’t had the best start for me, but that’s a topic for another post.

Sometimes, I find that, since I have been at my goal weight & active for so long, people aren’t as excited or supportive as they were when all this was new.  It is a rare occassion that I see/meet someone who knew the old me, so I don’t get that “WOW, you’ve lost so much weight, you look amazing” very often anymore. I have to admit, I’ve been missing it.

You don’t realize at the time, when you just starting this whole process, how much people’s words can motivate you!  When we are on our journey and someone says “You look great”, more often than not, the first words out of out mouths are “But I’ve got so far to go!”.

For those of you who are still on your weight loss journey, I want you to stop and thank those people when they acknowledge your progress! You will miss it when it stops!

For the rest of us, those who have lost the weight, and even those who never had the weight to lose at all, this is what I want you to do; I want you to take some time over this weekend and tell someone how they inspire you.  Pick up the phone & call them, or write them a heartfelt email.

I’m about to do just that. I’m going to write a letter to my WeightWatchers leader and thank her for her support along my journey. If it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t be where I am today!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 5:40 pm

    Its amazing how a few small words have such an impact on us.
    You are doing so awesome Kristy! Would love to live closer to you to have you as my leader! 🙂

    • January 7, 2011 6:13 pm

      I wish so many off you lived closer so we could all be at the same meeting! What fun that would be!

Leave a Reply

