Skip to content

You can not cross the finish line, unless you start.

January 5, 2011

Every journey has a starting point.

There is a place & time where you take that first step.

I took my first step on January 2nd, 2007.

That was the day I walked in to my first WeightWatchers meeting (this time around).

I say this time around, because this was my second time joining.  I had once joined back in 2005, and had some real success. But life got in the way, and I put it all back on.

I remember walking in to that meeting for the first time, like it was yesterday.  It had taken me months to muster up the courage, but I finally picked a date and decided that was the day I was going to join.  It didn’t even dawn on me that ‘everyone’ would be joining at the same time!   I had chosen January 2nd because I knew it was time to make a change, but with having Thanksgiving in October, my Birthday in November & Christmas in December, I decided that I would join on my first day back to work after Christmas vacation.

That meant January 2nd was the day.

It didn’t even cross my mind that this was “New Years Resolution” time. I had made a resolution years ago to stop making resolutions. All I knew was that this was the right time for me.

The only thing was, that year, I got sick over Christmas and was unable to go to work that day, and therefore unable to attend the lunch hour meeting around the corner from my office.  But, I had made up my mind. January 2nd was the day I was joining WeightWatchers. So, even though it took me ALL DAY, I got showered & dressed, and drove across town to the 5:30pm meeting.

I walked in there, embarrassed & ashamed that I was here again. Feeling like a failure after having put back on all the weight. I was wearing my old “fat jeans” which had once again become my everyday jeans.  I was sure everyone was judging me and secretly laughing at me.

When I walked through those doors, I got the warmest welcome. It was like being greeted by old friends that hadn’t seen you in years.  That could have been because the staff working that meeting were the same staff that work the meeting I had intended to sign up at, the same meeting I had attended 18 months earlier.

I really hope that this week, when I am working my WeightWatchers meetings, I can give the new members walking in to my meeting room the same sense of comfort that Charlotte & Carol gave me 4 years ago.

I can’t tell you how much that one decision has changed my life.  I can simply tell you that I wouldn’t be the strong, confident, fit woman I am today, if I hadn’t made that decision to walk in to that meeting room 4 years ago.

I wear a ring on my right hand that says “The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step”.  For me, that one step was joining WeightWatchers.

Whatever that step is for you, I wholeheartedly encourage you to take it, and start a new & exciting journey.

It maybe hard work at time, but it will be worth it in the end!

 

K.

Leave a Reply

