Skip to content

A story about a french fry!

April 16, 2010

So, one of the things I changed when I decided I was done being fat was that I gave up ‘fast food’ . I used to live on McDonalds & A&W, or pretty much anything I could buy without getting out of the car that was deep fried and came in a paper bag! But when I decided it was time to make some changed, the major decision I made was to give up that type of food. I made myself a rule.

The rule is “no eating food in the car that you don’t have to get out of the car to buy”. aka: no going to the drive thru!

The last time I had McDonalds was on January 1, 2007. The day before I re-joined Weight Watchers.

Well, this past weekend, on my way home from a run, I took the car to the Full Service car wash to get it washed and vacuumed.

When I got in the car after they were done, I saw something sticking out from under the mat on the flor on the passenger side. It was a McDonalds French Fry, in absolutely perfect condition. It looked like I had just been to McDonalds that morning, but I assure you, I had not. I can honestly tell you that  I have not touched McDonalds since January 1, 2007, and I don’t let anyone bring it in my car.

Yet this fry was in perfect condition.

So it got me to thinking about exactly what these fries are made of and cooked it. How many preservitives are in there??

I just can’t believe what I used to to do my body. The things I used to put in it.

Have you ever looked back at your old habits and calculated the calories (or Weight Watchers Points) on some of the things you used to eat?

Have you managed to come up with lower calorie / lower fat / lower points options for what you used to eat?

What have you given up completely?

K.

Leave a Reply

